Prince George Sports Hall of Fame

PGSHOF recognizing outstanding youth athletes
Jan 29, 2019

When the Prince George Sports Hall of Fame holds its next induction banquet, a dozen of the city's most promising up-and-coming athletes will be recognized with Youth Excellence Awards.

 The PGSHOF revealed the list of names on Tuesday. Youth Excellence Award winners who will be honoured during the March 30 gathering at the Hart Community Centre are: Colburn Pearce (basketball); Kimiko Kamstra (judo); Jonah Brittons (motocross); Ben Hendrickson (five-pin bowling); Natasha Kozlowski (golf); Anna MacDonald (trampoline); Eric Orlowsky (speed skating); Derian Potskin (baseball and fastball); Ainslee Rushton (lacrosse); Matthew Shand (volleyball); Zenze Stanley-Jones (wrestling); and Jordan Vertue (swimming).

 The fathers of Pearce and Kamstra - Matt and Bruce respectively - are members of the PGSHOF. Matt Pearce, a former Canadian Football League player and a Grey Cup champion, was inducted in 1999. Bruce Kamstra, a national judo champion, entered the hall one year later, in 2000.

 Previous Youth Excellence Award winners include: Olympian Meryeta O'Dine (2016); Olympian Sarah Beaudry (2012); Stanley Cup champion Brett Connolly (2010); Olympians Alyx Treasure and Megan Tandy (2007); national-team baseball player Amanda Asay (2007); national boxing champion Kenny Lally (2007); and Olympian Chris Wong (1999).

 On the night of March 30, the PGSHOF will also welcome its newest inductees: Cliff Hucul (auto racing); Brian Martinson (track and field); and Elisha Williams (wheelchair basketball).

Courtesy of Prince George Citizen