Prince George Sports Hall of Fame



Active Search Filters:


Induction Year


Reset Filters

1977-1978 Prince George Mohawks (1997)

Hockey Team

In the 1970s, the Prince George Mohawks were a recognized dynasty in B.C. amateur hockey, winning the provincial senior A championship (the Coy Cup) four times in six seasons.

But they weren’t finished there. Following their fourth Coy Cup in 1977-1978, the Mohawks went on to win the national senior title, bringing home the Canadian Amateur Hockey Association’s Hardy Cup. With the Canadian championship under their belt, the Mohawks traveled to Japan, where they proudly represented their home country at an international tournament.

The pride and winning tradition of the Mohawks is still alive in Prince George. Several members of that championship team continue to reside in the city, making an active contribution in both the business and sporting communities, volunteering hundreds of hours to amateur sports as coaches, managers and association executives.

As Oldtimers, the Mohawks still compete in several hockey tournaments each year.

As this year marks the 20th anniversary of the Mohawks' Canadian championship, it seems only natural that they be inducted as inaugural members of the Prince George Sports Hall of Fame, a fitting tribute to the players and the organization that made Prince George a national hockey champion.